top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaylin M

October VIP


Yes Yes, I know ... there was no September VIP, but long story short ... Blake couldn't get himself together to ask the necessary questions I needed. So we are moving on! I figured that since Thanksgiving, as well as my birthday, was yesterday, that I would make this month's VIP my mom!

I'd like to introduce you all to my mother - Deanne Matthew.

My mom was born in Sri Lanka to a family of 8 children. She was the 6th child born and has 3 other sisters and 4 brothers. Her family immigrated to Canada when my mom was 7 years old on St. Patrick's Day. She was mostly raised by her mother (my grandmother) and the older children. They lived in a 3 bedroom semi in Scarborough.

My mother had to deal with a lot of racism when she was school-age as Scarborough wasn't as diverse back in the 70's/80's as it is today. There were only a couple other ethnic families at her school; one of which my mom is still friends with to this day.

If you read my August VIP post, then you know that my parents met while they were both working at Scotiabank. My mom actually worked with my paternal grandmother before even meeting my dad. I think everyone of my mother's siblings, as well as both of my grandmothers, all worked at the Scotiabank headquarters in Scarborough at some time or another.

During the time that my parents were dating, my mom was in school to become a nurse. She ultimately had to drop out of school because she had missed so much school due to her endometriosis. For those that don't know, without getting into too much medical lingo, your endometrium is the lining of your uterus that sheds during a woman's menses. If a person has endometriosis, it means that the endometrial tissue is growing outside of the uterus. This condition can be quite painful because it grows and tries to shed during menses similar to the normal tissue. Sometimes the tissue can continue growing to a point where masses are created in the pelvis. My mother struggled with this condition for a long time and ended up spending a lot of time in the hospital and had to have numerous procedures to remove the abnormal tissue from her pelvis including removing one of her ovaries. Due to this condition, my parents struggled for many years to have children, but they (obviously) were successful in having 2 beautiful children.

My mom is an amazing mother. She has always been so supportive of my brother and myself. When Blake and I broke up in the 11th grade, my mom sat in the car with me and we cried together. When I lived at home and went out for late nights with my friends, she'd stay up late until I got home safe. When Logan and I wanted to drop out of school to pursue different career paths, she helped us step by step and told us that we could do anything. Whenever we need her, she is there in an instant ... no matter what! Logan and I are two of the luckiest people in the world because we get to call this amazing woman our mom.

My mom is also a loyal and compassionate friend. She has had the same best friend since the 2nd grade. Their friendship has had its ups and downs, but they always reunite. My mom doesn't have many close friends, but if you get the privilege of having her as a friend, then you are guaranteed to have a friend for life.

This woman is a major role model in my life. She takes pride in her life, her marriage, and her family and she is happy with all that she has accomplished. She loves with her whole heart and when she hugs you it is like a warm blanket on a chilly day. My mom also is an amazing cook and I KNOW that I will never be able to master her curry recipes because they will never "taste just like how mom makes".

Yes, sometimes we fight - we're mother and daughter ... but she will always be my mom and I will always love her. Thanks for helping to mold me into the woman that I am today. I only hope that one day I will be as good of a mother as you are to me.

I love you mom.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page